Mayor and Council


Municipal Office

395 Mulock Drive P.O. Box 328 Station Main, Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 4X7

Email Us

​​​​​​Newmarket Town Council includes the Mayor, one Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor and seven Ward Councillors. Town Council is responsible for the governance of the Town of Newmarket, guided by provincial legislation. It establishes policies affecting the Town by resolutions and by-laws. Town staff is responsible for carrying out the direction of Council as a whole.

All Council members are elected for a four-year term. The mayor and regional councillor are elected at large by all voters in the Town and councillors are elected by voters within their specific wards. To find out what ward you live in, see our Ward Boundaries page.

Members of Town council meet at regularly scheduled council and committee meetings throughout the year, as well as at special council meetings as needed.

Newmarket Mayor and Town Council Contact Information for the 2022-2026 term

Mayor John Taylor John Taylor
Mayor of Newmarket
Tel.: 905-953-5300 ext. 2000
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom VeghTom Vegh
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor
Tel.: 905-895-5193
Fax: 905-953-5133
Councillor Grace SimonGrace Simon
Councillor - Ward 1
Mobile: 905-953-6926
Councillor Victor WoodhouseVictor Woodhouse 
Councillor - Ward 2
Mobile: 905-252-7526
Councillor Jane TwinneyJane Twinney
Councillor - Ward 3
Mobile: 905-392-7727
Councillor Trevor MorrisonTrevor Morrison
Councillor - Ward 4
Mobile: 289-221-3477
Councillor Bob KwapisBob Kwapis
Councillor - Ward 5
Mobile: 416-799-3942
Councillor Broome​Kelly Broome
Councillor - Ward 6
Mobile: 905-716-1756
Councillor Christina BisanzChristina Bisanz
Councillor - Ward 7
Mobile: 905-717-9059